The past 24 hours have been wrenching - both with joy and with sadness. 

Yesterday evening was Cade's last basketball game of the season.  He missed both games last week, so it was important to be there Tuesday.  His team won!  I don't know if they won any games last week, but they won last night.  Cade even got a rebound.

Yesterday evening, I noticed Pepper in the backyard.  Many of you may know Pepper - my blind, epileptic basenji.  She has been declining in health for the past year or so, and we've noticed more and more dementia.  However, when I saw her yesterday I knew something was desperately wrong.  She was walking in circles (which really isn't unusual) but her posture was... different.  I knew she'd suffered a stroke, or some other injury.

Today Dan and I took her to our vet Dr. Murphy.  He confirmed she had some type of brain injury.  There was a small chance she would improve a little, but a greater chance she wouldn't improve at all.  I held her in my arms, struggling to find the right answer.  I felt with my heart, hoping and searching for truth and guidance.

I asked her "are you ready to go?"  I felt her twitch, her head moving slightly.  Not wanting to put my own thoughts upon her meaning, I then asked "are you afraid?"  With those words I had my answer.  She relaxed and released into my arms, as if knowing I would make her better - by letting her go.  (Thanks again to Dr. Murphy and all his staff for their compassion). 

Cara at Kindred Hearts Bereavement has her earthly body.  Cara believes, as do I, that our departed companions will come to us after their passing; in a dream, a flash of deja-vu, or some other way.  Cara said she couldn't wait to hear about our dreams... given Pepper's one-of-a-kind, grouchy, mischievous, stubborn, trouble-making ways while here with us on this earth.

Shortly after coming home, I bent down to pick up our foster puppy to take him outside - and promptly ripped the ass of my favorite pair of pants.  Thanks, Pepper.
Picture
Pepper, in 2007
Brenda
3/11/2010 12:23:17 am

Is it appropriate to say rest in peace for Pepper? How about rest in mischevious ways?? I think I like that better just for Pepper. ;) Love ya.

Reply
3/13/2010 12:47:43 am

What a brave and beautiful tribute to Pepper that you were there for her in the end. We had a similar experience w/our 15 year old beagle Trooper... he was in such pain, but continued to hang on until we looked him in the eye and told him it was okay to go. What an amazing, special bond dogs have with their people! Hugs to you as you grieve for her.... and I'm so glad that foster experience has brought you some much needed comfort.

Reply
6/3/2010 02:56:06 am

Awwww. I'm sorry about the loss. He'll be in a better place now.

Reply
12/16/2010 05:30:18 am

Stroke is an evil which we must start paying attention, is a disease that present many symptoms before it happens, check with the doctor is a good way to avoid this!

Reply



Leave a Reply.