Ah, balance... something I struggle with every day.

Over the past two weeks, finding balance has been a study in mindfulness.  Last week I was battling an episode of vertigo.  There's no lesson in mindfulness like examining every motion of evey breath, wondering if the world will turn upside down or spin out of control.  With the help of Dr. Sue, I managed to pull through a little faster than in the past.

Yesterday, I was at PAWS (joined by esteemed author Catherine Mann) for what may be my final monthly shelter doga practice.  I've loved providing just a moment of tenderness to a shelter dog (our partners Sunshine and Regal seemed to enjoy it), but as my other commitments have grown I've been forced to find balance among my worlds.  Thus, I've made the hard decision to cut back on my volunteering.

Yesterday evening I began my latest schedule of teaching evening yoga classes, filling in for Amy Likins while she is away.  I'll be teaching for Amy on Monday, Tuesday, and Thursday evenings for the next two weeks.  Best wishes to Amy, and to the rest of her family, as together they battle the cancer that's gripped her father's health.

Balance isn't just not falling over.  It's being centered in the whirlwinds of chaos.  Work, family, health, rest, community service, teaching, learning... all the things that need our attention.



Leave a Reply.