December.  Here we are at the end month of 2011.  Somehow I've let the past couple months fly past me.

I've been giving a topic a lot of thought, and the timing seems right to bring these thoughts to the surface. 
When an artist is entrenched in the effort of creating, whether it's a painting or a poem, it's easy to get lost in the thunderous act of creation.  However at some point each must take a step back, analyze the work, and determine if it's 'done.' 

This experiment called doga got started innocuously enough.  While working at the soon-to-be-open All One Yoga studio with Amy Likins, she and I were talking about all the new things this new space could offer.  I asked her "are you going to have dog yoga too?"  Amy's response to me was "Would you like to teach it?"  Ta-da!  That was August 2008, and I was pregnant with Connor.  Since then I tried weekly doga at All One Yoga, shelter doga at PAWS, doga workshops with Pets Behave, doga at Dog Daze, doga fundraisers, and more.

Last month, just after Thanksgiving, I held another fundraiser doga class.  I chose to move from the "pit" behind Cafe Organic (which opened spring 2011) to the Fort Walton Beach Landing.  I was hoping the change of venue would translate to better turnout.  I was wrong.

While I cherish the opportunity to spread the doga practice with each individual person, it's become disheartening to have such small participation time and time again.  I have to step back and ask "is this done?"  More to the point, "Have I failed?"

I've decided to no longer schedule group events, unless I'm contacted for a special event and have a confirmed group.  I guess I will see how 2012 goes...
8/16/2012 02:30:40 am

THX for info

Reply
9/7/2012 01:35:42 pm

nice post

Reply



Leave a Reply.